In your digital home, you can share various types of content. If you share information from a protected area, there are one or two special considerations.
The “Share content on the timeline” right is required for users to have this option.
Here’s how it works
Call up the content that you want to share. At the bottom of the article, you will find the “Share” option.
You then choose where you want to share this article. If the article comes from a protected community, a private page or a private event, you will always see a notice to that effect in the next dialog window:
A shared article from a protected community or a private page is always visible to all subscribers to the sharing parties as a teaser.
Please note that users who are not members of a protected community or a private page or have not been invited as participants to private events cannot access the original article. If users without access rights click on the teaser, they see a message:
Depending on the app within the protected community or page from which the article is shared, there are slight differences in the degree of visibility:
- Timeline article: The entire article and any comments are publicly visible.
- Blog post: The teaser for the blog post and its title, the teaser text and image, and any comments are publicly visible. The blog post itself is not visible, however. The “read more” function is disabled.
- Wiki articles: The title of the wiki article is publicly visible. The wiki article itself is not visible, however. The “read more” function is disabled.
- Public event: The event name, event description and all other content are publicly visible. Any user can click on the event.
- Private event: All the information apart from the event image is visible. It is not possible to click on the event.
- App items that cannot be shared are: files, documents, forms, forum posts, lists and tasks.
The optional message which can be appended to a share is always visible.
Person A shares a post from a protected community. Anyone who either follows person A or subscribes to the target of the share (person, page or community) then sees the teaser for the shared content. In COYO, the subscriber feature plays a part here. This feature is intended to link employees and provide an insight into what people are working on and what they are interested in.
The general rule is: any user who follows person A can see this share. Subscription to the target also plays a part.
This example also applies if a post is shared from a private page.
Guidelines for your users
Please remember that posts from protected communities become visible to other users when they are shared, as does the message which can be added as an option. For followers of the user who is sharing the post, it appears with the message directly on the homepage (global timeline). There is no notification via the bell.
We therefore recommend telling your users that they should forward only content from public pages and communities using the share feature. Similarly, the message which can be added when sharing should contain only information that may be read by all members of a community or page.
If personal information that not everyone is permitted to see is to be shared with users, a personal message via chat is a better option.