What’s the difference between deleted and deactivated users?
In general, both users can no longer log into COYO, but the difference between a deactivated and a deleted user is that a deleted user can be anonymized.
If you don’t use the anonymization function, the division into the two categories also helps to keep an overview of users who have left or who are temporarily absent (e.g. parental leave).
Users who are only temporarily absent should be deactivated and not deleted.
Can I completely delete users from COYO?
The complete deleting of users so that no activity by deleted users is displayed in your environment is not possible in COYO.
The reason for this is that these users have interacted with other users in COYO (e.g. have published posts which have been reacted to by others; written articles in blog posts). Any action in COYO that was performed by the deleted user is linked to other data, which would otherwise be lost.
A deleted user’s personal data can be removed via anonymization. This ensures the data protection of former employees.
You can apply this setting in the Administration under "General settings" > "Anonymize deleted users". There, you can specify how long after deleting a user should be anonymized:
An anonymized user looks like this later on:
How can deleted users be restored?
The identities of deleted users cannot be restored. After the period of time that you have defined has passed, the user is irretrievably deleted.
The default set for anonymization is 2 days. We nevertheless recommend a period of at least 30 days in order to be able to cater to any requests to export the user data. (GDPR)
If the employees who have left the company can still be identified by name, you can restore these users. To do this, click first on the three dots to see the options for the respective employee and then on "Restore user".
The user has been restored, but is set to inactive for the time being. Once the user is activated, they can immediately log back into your digital home.
I’ve accidentally deleted a user and can’t use their e-mail address for an account anymore. Is it possible to undo this?In COYO, the e-mail address is the distinguishing feature. It can’t be assigned twice. So, if you’ve deleted a user, who’s now working for the company again (e.g. maternity leave, sabbatical,...), you have two options:
Option No. 1
If you don’t anonymize your users, you can reactivate the user in the user administration. To do this, search either for the respective user of filter in the user administration for "Display deleted" and select "Restore user" via the three dots. This also works if the deadline for anonymization hasn’t elapsed yet.
Option No. 2
Swap the deleted user’s e-mail address with a "dummy e-mail address". To do this, filter in the user administration for "Display deleted" and edit the respective user. Enter a dummy, such as firstname.lastname@example.org, in the e-mail field. You can then create a new user with the right e-mail address.