This is where you’re notified
Your notifications are divided into two sections under the "bell": Discussion and activity. You might first be wondering what you’re actually informed about. And, secondly, to which section certain actions and their notifications are allocated.
Since Cloud release 31, notifications that are more than 90 days old are automatically deleted each night.
Here you are notified if you are personally involved or interested. You will then always receive a notification if you have been marked in a post or you have commented on or subscribed to posts. This applies to content in forum and timeline apps.
- New comment on subscribed content (e.g. timeline post)
- Mention with the @ mentioning in a comment or post
- Response to your own forum post
- Other comments to a forum post that you have responded to
Activities by other users on pages/in communities that you have subscribed to trigger a notification. This also applies to event that you are participating in.
- A colleague subscribes to you
The following apps are always used on a page or in a community. To receive a notification – no matter whether as a user or as an admin – you need to subscribe to the page or community.
- You are assigned a task
- A task is no longer assigned to you
- An assigned task is due today
- A blog post has been published
- A file is uploaded to the documents app
- A file is updated in the documents app
- A submission is created
An e-mail notification is also sent if e-mail addresses are saved in the app settings.
- New post in the forum app
- New entry in the list app
- An entry in the list app is updated
- New article in the wiki app
- If you have subscribed to a new article in the wiki app, you’ll get a notification when there’s a new comment or the article is updated
- Invitation to a private event
- An event that you are participating in is cancelled
- An event that you are participating in has been changed
- Someone accepts an event for which you are the organizer
- All of the places are taken for an event for which you are the organizer
- All of the places are taken for an event and you’re response is still outstanding or you have responded with "maybe"
You also receive notifications for hashtags. These are triggered when the hashtag occurs here:
- In the name or content of an app
- In the name, content or teaser of a blog
- In a comment
- In the content of a timeline post
- In the name, description or location of an event
- In the name or description of a file
- In the name or content of a forum
- In the name or content of a wiki article
- In the name or content of a homepage
- In the name of an entry in the list app
- In the name or description of a page
- In the name or description of a community
- In the name of a task in the tasks app
Reported postsIf a post is reported and you have the permission to manage reported posts.
- Your request to join a community has been accepted
- Your request to join a community has been rejected
- Request from a user to access a community for which you are the admin
- A user has joined a community that you are a member of
- You have been invited to become the admin of a community
- You have been removed from a community
What happens if the post has been deleted in the meantime?
If a user or admin decides to delete their post, the post is no longer available but the notification is retained due to the history.