In COYO you have the possibility to share important contents of your interface with the users. You can share individual posts, pages, workspaces, events, blogs and wikis either with specific users or with a specific group.
Generally a user can share content on timelines of other workspaces and pages. This content might be a post, an article (blog or wiki), a workspace, a page or an event. A user can add a message to its share.
In COYO shares are aggregated to avoid duplicate content. This means that the content is just referenced and a share count is incremented. Users can click on the share count to see who shared the content and where.
Shares are displayed on a sender timeline (user profile, workspace, page) when...
- ... the share has the given sender as recipient
- ... the share has the given sender as author (e.g. user or functional user)
Shares are displayed on a personal timeline (timeline widget, landing page) when...
- ... the share has the current user as recipient
- ... the share has the current user as author (was shared by me)
- ... the share has a subscribed sender as author or recipient (e.g. was shared as functional user of a page I follow or was shared to a workspace I am the member of). Both the recipient and the author of the share must be accessible for the current user.
If there are several shares matching those rules, only the latest shared is displayed.
Visibility and security
By sharing content users can make private content public.
If content gets shared within a private context (e.g. into another private page) and then into a public context both shares are visible when clicking on the share count. However, the message of the private share remains hidden.
Since COYO version 11 all shares are removed if the content itself is removed. E.g. if a blog article was shared and the blog app gets deleted. All shares of all articles of that app are removed as well. Before COYO version 11 sometimes a warning was displayed that the share is not accessible anymore.
Shares can be deleted independently by their content in the modal that opens when a user clicks on the share count. A user can only delete shares he is the author of or if he is the admin of the targeted sender (page / workspace).
Shares of blog articles
Blog articles can be shared automatically. Within a blog app admins can configure that once articles get published a share on the timeline of the very same workspace / page is created.
If the status of a blog article is switched back from published to draft the share is also removed from the timeline.
User actions on shares
Comments, likes and subscriptions on posts and shared posts have been the same all along. This means if I comment a post and this post gets shared somewhere, my comment will be displayed under the share as well.
Since COYO version 9 this also applies for blog and wiki articles. Beforehand the comments and likes of an article and its share were separated. Now, if a user likes or comments a shared article, the comment / like is directly attached to the article itself.
Since COYO version 11 if one subscribes a share (by clicking the bell icon) he or she also subscribes to the corresponding content.
Sometimes articles or posts can't be commented nor liked because an admin configured it this way. In this case also the share can't be commented nor liked.
Like every other post, shares can be made sticky if the creating user has the global permission to create sticky posts. The functionality is the same as for posts but it gets tricky if content is shared multiple times with stickyness. In this case, the user might have to click the "seen" button multiple times (once for each share) on the same post.
Sharing as a functional user
Shares can be created in the name of a sender (page, workspace or event) in the same way as posts or comments can be created. This is pretty simple for global functional users but can get quite tricky for local ones.
I am admin of a page and can act as that page locally. I want to share a post to another public page in the name of my page. But this would allow me to act globally, right?
Yes, so local functional users are not able to share a post in the name of their sender to any target. They are however allowed to share anything in the name of their sender to their own sender.
I am admin of a workspace and have the permission to act as this workspace locally. Someone shares a post from my workspace to another public page. Will I be able to comment in the name of my workspace although the post is now visible in the new public page as well?
Yes! The local functional user is allowed to that because he or she is considered to be the moderator of their content (which originates in his or her workspace).
What about if someone shares content from another page into my workspace. Will I be able to act in the name of my workspace in this case?
At the moment this is the case, yes.
Sharing articles as a functional users
With COYO version 9 comments, likes and subscriptions of shares directly affect the corresponding article. In combination with the functional user feature it is now possible to comment and like wiki and blog articles in the name of a sender (via their share).
FAQ about shares
Can I edit the message on a shared post?
Currently, only people with active moderator mode can edit the message of a shared item. To do this, open the timeline, select the other options, and click "Edit". The shared message will then open and can be edited.
Can I share a post with multiple recipients at the same time?
No this is not possible.
Can I disable sharing of content?
Currently, there is no right that allows or disable the sharing of posts or articles.
Can a share be deleted on the timeline?
Yes, a share can also be deleted. The deletion of shared posts is controlled via the share window. This means you first click on the number of shares and then select the share you want to delete.
Can I share a blog article in the name of a page or a workspace?
Yes, with the right permissions COYO gives you the ability to share contents in the name of a page or workspace. Accordingly, an article may be published from the Marketing page, for example. To achieve this option, all you need to do when sharing is open the advanced options and select as who/what you want to share.
Why am I unable to share anything on a particular page?
Whether you are allowed to share something with a page is determined by whether you are allowed to write something on the page's timeline. If the timeline is restricted to administrators and you are not an administrator of the site, you are not allowed to share anything with the site.